Writing Naturally

22 Jul

You know those times when you really get into the zone and just write for hours, and it just flows? When you don’t even think about it and you just produce paragraphs? It doesn’t come often to most people, but when you do manage to get into that state, it’s the best feeling in the world.
Each person is different, of course, and what works for one does not necessarily work for anyone else, but sometimes getting into the zone can be nothing more than a matter of putting together the right circumstances. I just had one those amazing “in the zone” writing sessions, so I’ll try to recreate the experience.
I’ve found myself writing in the strangest places and times, so when someone said they were driving to the beach this morning, I picked up my computer and got in the car. The weather’s pretty hot, so the beach was crowded. My friend went to the beach, and I went in search of a quiet place to work. There’s a wave-breaker surrounding the coast of the beach where I was at, so I walked along that. The wave-breaker consists of a few hundred two-ton cement blocks in weird, intertwining shapes, with a lighthouse at the very end of the pier. That’s where I sat. I climbed down the cement blocks, and found myself a comfortable position.
The sea was running a little high, so the waves sprayed a fine mist with each crash. Once in a while the water got all the way up to where I was sitting. The sun was baking down, and I was encased in a salty, briny sea-smell. You wouldn’t think that any writing could get done in a place like that. But it was perfect. I ended up sitting in that exact position for about five hours. In one sitting, I wrote three chapter of a book and an article. It was an amazing feeling.

Flagler Beach

Flagler Beach (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Sometimes, getting out your comfort zone can be the best thing to give your muse a little nudge. If you move out of your box, it can help you think out of the box. And it can also help you learn a little more about what helps you write. I know for a fact that I’ll be heading out to write in nature a little more often, just because I felt how awesome it was. So give it a try. Write in a place you’ve never written before. In a forest, at the beach, at the top of a mountain. Go somewhere else to write, and watch your writing go somewhere it’s never gone before.

6 Responses to “Writing Naturally”

  1. Ileandra Young July 23, 2013 at 4:32 pm #

    Aaaaaaah, writing on the beach. That’s not something I’ve ever tried, but I’d like to.

  2. A.D. Everard July 23, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

    How wonderful! Congratulations. Sounds like you packed weeks of work into those five hours. Brilliant advice for every writer.

    Driving does it for me. No, not writing while I am behind the wheel, but my thoughts sure start flowing when I’m driving in the countryside. It gives me the itch to write and often helps me over those blocks or plot problem that crop up.

    I always travel with pen and paper, so if it’s a long trip, I have something to catch those thoughts if they flow into great detail.

    Cheers!

    • nesherehrman July 23, 2013 at 5:32 pm #

      Driving sounds like a great way to get inspiration. I also have this weird thing when I’m doing some kind of hands-on work like soldering and inspiration just strikes me. Sometimes fully engaging only one section of your brain can leave the rest of your brain ‘bored’ by comparison, so your creative, idle forebrain kicks into overdrive. Human brains are funny.

    • A.D. Everard July 23, 2013 at 6:20 pm #

      Nesherehrman – yes! I too find it when I am “taken away” from my writing. I might have flat days, but then when I get busy with almost anything else, suddenly it’s there and flowing and I just… can’t… get… to… it – Argh! Much frustration then. LOL. 🙂

    • nesherehrman July 23, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

      One of the solutions I’ve found is having a pen and paper with me all the time. Even if it’s just a tiny notepad. If I have a great idea and nowhere to record, I’ll just convince myself it’s not that good anyway. But if I always write down the idea, even in a few words, then I can page through my notepad when I’m looking for something to write and see all these thought-bytes which I’ve forgotten about.

    • A.D. Everard July 24, 2013 at 5:21 am #

      Yes, carrying a notepad and pen is most important. The number of times I’ve been caught without and have trudged through unfamiliar streets searching for a newsagent or anywhere that sells paper!

      It’s almost a sure thing, if you’re taken away from your writing (busy) and have forgotten that most important pen and paper, creativity will burst forth and the ideas will flow. Personally, I think the Universe has a sense of humor.

      Cheers! 🙂

Opinion/Comment/Proposition/Request? Write It Below! {Nonsense & Offensive Messages Will Be AUTOMATICALLY DELETED and IP will be Banned From The Writing Corp.]

