Regarding You

3 Jul

Sometimes I feel as if I’m standing at the edge of a cliff. High above the clouds, an incomprehensible drop before me, the formless ground far below a hazy blue. Alone. I stand high on my perch and write, little notes. Each note an opinion, an idea, a suggestion. One by one, I write the notes, fold them into little paper airplanes, and send the soaring over the edge, to be found by Whom It May Concern. That’s what writing for a blog feels like to me sometimes.
Other times it’s as if I’m in a dark, musty little room half buried in the ground. A small grating at the top of the wall lets in light. By the light of the dusty rays I scribble my opinions, my ideas, my suggestions. One by one I shove the notes out through the grating, straining to reach. As each note squeezes out, it is grabbed by fingers of passerby walking along the street above my cellar. I strain to hear but cannot make out the words. That’s what writing for a blog feels like other times.
I have so many things I want to say, so much to tell you, reader. But I cannot see you. You hover just out of reach, out of sight yet not out of mind . I know you’re reading what I’m writing, but I don’t know you. What do you want to hear? What do you want to know about?
Tell me. You have the option of stooping down and talking out me in my hidden cellar, of sending my paper airplanes back up on a gust of Internet. Tell me what you want to hear about. Tell me what about your writing, and how you do it. Give me a hint what you want me to write about.
P.S – I just read what I wrote above, and, wheew, talk about melodrama, right?

English: Paper airplane

English: Paper airplane (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

But I’m not going to change it, that’s really what I feel like. So tell me. Leave a comment about what you want me to write about, or even ask a specific question. That’s what The Writing Corp is for, and what it’s all about.

3 Responses to “Regarding You”

  1. Lorna's Voice July 10, 2013 at 1:50 am #

    While it’s wonderful to get feedback on what you (I) write, the thing that matters most is that the writing continues to flow from you to the page. Write for yourself, not the reader. I think that is the mistake many writers make. They write for someone else and don’t even know for whom they are writing…

  2. hilarycustancegreen July 6, 2013 at 6:20 am #

    The truly astonishing thing about writing, is that the words I tap out on my keyboard enter your mind. There are neurons firing inside your head now. Neither time nor distance can prevent this social visit (or invasion) by a stranger. I guess if I want to be welcome there I have to say something interesting…

Opinion/Comment/Proposition/Request? Write It Below! {Nonsense & Offensive Messages Will Be AUTOMATICALLY DELETED and IP will be Banned From The Writing Corp.]

