Inspiration!

20 Jun

So, I’m always up for different ideas that I can use to tickle my inspiration.  Sometimes they end up taking me places I didn’t plan on going, sometimes they make me realize that there are some topics I just can’t chase very far.

I buy books, I hound websites, and I just start writing about random things.

One of my favorite trilogies is Your First 1,000 Days in Writerspark/ Your First 2,000 Days in Writerspark/ Your First 3,000 Days in Writerspark.  Three years’ worth of prompts in each book!  These books were based on a Yahoo Group “Writerspark”.

The fabulous news is, the moderator of the group is back and they are, once again, accepting new members!  This morning, I got a deluge of new prompts!  I’m avidly looking forward to prompts showing up in my email box every day!  I’m just as avidly looking forward to being able to stretch my edges and explore ideas I might not have been able to come up with on my own.

I’m wading through the new prompts, pulling them into my own PDF so I can take them with me on my tablet device and write when I have a few minutes to stretch.

How about you?  Where to you get ideas when you need to find new ways to exercise your writing muscles?  To come up with angles on things that are a little different than what you are used to?

This Yahoo group is supportive and will provide constructive critiques for writing samples if anyone wants to take a chance on it.

As for me, I’m going to venture forth and write about my desk!

Exercise #3740

The Desk

Compose a piece of no more than 750 words that shows the contents of a desktop in such a way that the images provide a sense of the person who uses the desk.

3 Responses to “Inspiration!”

  1. Rob Biesenbach June 21, 2013 at 4:40 am #

    I appreciate your following my Act Like You Mean Business blog and I welcome you to (re)join me in its new location at http://www.RobBiesenbach.com/blog. Today’s post is on Josh Whedon’s inspiring approach to the writing process. Thank you!

  2. Jodie Nelson June 20, 2013 at 2:39 am #

    I try and come up with my own writing prompts. As much as I like using prompts from books or the Internet, it is much better for my creativity to think up my own.

    • alicorndreams June 20, 2013 at 3:38 am #

      I always end up thinking up ones that fit with what I enjoy writing anyway. 😉 I need to hit you up for creative prompts that are out of my comfort zone.

      I think I’m going to hunt down your Name Dice to come up with some creative names! 🙂

Opinion/Comment/Proposition/Request? Write It Below! {Nonsense & Offensive Messages Will Be AUTOMATICALLY DELETED and IP will be Banned From The Writing Corp.]

