It’s Okay To Fail

21 Apr

“Nothing great will ever be achieved without great men, and men are great only if they are determined to be so.” 
― Charles de Gaulle

I’m not as great as I think I am.

I know that, of course, but I forget sometimes. I’m not great. I’ll always know I’m not perfect, but I’m not great either.

When I remember this and realize what a pretentious fool I am, my self-esteem swings over to the other extreme, but-

I’m not as bad as I think I am either.

I want to be great. I want to get better in my craft. I don’t want to be sidetracked by my delusions of grandeur, nor depressed by my realizations of worthlessness. I want to get at the writing without all of this piling up on me.

I want to tell myself every day, before I start writing:  “You aren’t great. That’s why it’s okay to fail.” Because, when I think I am great I need to be great or perfect or marvelous or whatever. I get hung up over the details. I stop writing because I’m done, I’m great, I don’t need to get better.

And when I think I’m awful, I don’t even want to try. Why on earth should I? I’ll never be great. So-

It’s okay to fail.

Perfect is a myth. Failure is human – it means you’re on the right track.

It’s okay to fail.

You’re not as great as you think you are.

And that’s fine.

Because you’re getting there.

beautiful

9 Responses to “It’s Okay To Fail”

  1. jonahvenegas17 April 23, 2013 at 11:53 pm #

    This is a great post! I think it inspires more people to keep writing even when it doesn’t seem like it’s getting anywhere!

    • Rowan May 10, 2013 at 9:45 am #

      Thank you! I’m glad I could make you feel that way. XD Keep writing!

  2. hilarycustancegreen April 22, 2013 at 3:09 am #

    I believe research has shown that successful people have a higher number of failures in their lives. It is how you deal with failure that counts.

    • Rowan May 10, 2013 at 9:44 am #

      Exactly. ^_^

  3. John W. Howell April 21, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

    Ever notice that sometimes the trip is more rewarding than the destination?

    • Rowan May 10, 2013 at 9:44 am #

      Yes! Sometimes the struggle, though frustrating, can be the most defining.

  4. paul1510 April 21, 2013 at 7:14 pm #

    Rowan,
    nice post, only the dead are perfect.
    Paul.

    • Rowan April 22, 2013 at 1:25 am #

      Haha. Perfectly dead. XD
      Thanks, I’m glad you liked it!
      Rowan

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blogs, articles, information, videos, etc. – the weekly offering … | Books: Publishing, Reading, Writing - April 23, 2013

    […] Fold Em’: Knowing If Your Manuscript is Worth Fighting For by Heather Reid From The Writing Corp: It’s Okay to Fail by […]

Opinion/Comment/Proposition/Request? Write It Below! {Nonsense & Offensive Messages Will Be AUTOMATICALLY DELETED and IP will be Banned From The Writing Corp.]

