People Like You

20 Apr

IMG_0820
Don’t ever let anyone quash your dreams.  Don’t ever listen to people who tell you that you can’t.  For any reason.  Never believe for even a second that you can’t.  You can.  I’m living proof!

When I was in the 4th grade (decades ago) I wrote a story for a Language Arts assignment.  It was called “The Cat, The Dog, and The Jellybeans”.  I got an A on the paper, and the teacher said she really enjoyed reading it.  I was hooked.  It was then that I decided I wanted to write.

I told my family.  They thought it was cute.  They all told me that “People like you don’t write, honey.  And if you do write, you will never be able to publish anything.  And if you do publish things, you will have to pay people to publish your work and you will never make any money at it”.  They didn’t understand that it wasn’t money that it was all about.  The words were just in my head and I loved them.

I wrote for the literary journals in school.  I wrote and I wrote and I wrote.  I rarely told anyone at home I was still writing.  My teachers encouraged me.  Kids at school congratulated me.  But the words in my head still echoed.  People like you… people like you… people like you.

Skip forward, (by this time I was REALLY hiding my writing because it didn’t pay and no one understood) and find me sitting in a cube farm, making a living but not really living.  I needed a book to help me figure out how to do my job.  And there wasn’t any book written.  So, after I slept (it was a long project) I got mad and wrote the book I wanted to read.  And I found someone willing to take a chance on me who published it.  And I got an advance on royalties check.  And I saw my name on a book jacket.  And I was hooked again.  I wrote a few geek books.  And was published.  And I fell in love with the words again.

People like me, and people like you, can write.  If you don’t mind living your dream and chasing your own dandelion fluff, you can do it.  It isn’t easy.  Sometimes it is a lot of work and sometimes it means forgoing things that you might rather do, but you CAN do it.

Find your voice (of late, mine has been headed back to poetry, my first love) and let your own voice sing.  Don’t ever pay heed to the people who tell you that People Like You can’t.  We are all people like you, and people like you CAN!

17 Responses to “People Like You”

  1. middleagedyo April 21, 2013 at 1:23 pm #

    By the sounds of your parents……I’m certain we are related….lol

    • alicorndreams April 21, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

      I’m certain you’re right! I think all writers are related any way, but those of us who were told that we can’t, shouldn’t couldn’t, won’t… we are related at an even deeper level. Kindred spirits.

      Now… Prove them wrong. If I can prove mine wrong, you can too!

  2. Pillows A-La-Mode April 21, 2013 at 12:55 am #

    Lovely post!!!

    • alicorndreams April 21, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

      🙂 Thank you. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about chasing those voices away!

  3. Rowan April 21, 2013 at 12:12 am #

    Thank you. This is an.. awesome post. It’s so warm and uplifting! People like us CAN – AND WE WILL! XD This makes me feel so lucky to have my family supporting me and my dreams. Thank you. ^_^

    • alicorndreams April 21, 2013 at 2:35 am #

      😎
      Everyone needs support. If not your family, and your friends, then at least your own inner voice!

  4. herbirthmarks April 20, 2013 at 11:42 pm #

    Thank you for these encouraging words!

  5. Lorna's Voice April 20, 2013 at 10:57 pm #

    Every writer, or aspiring writer has a story to tell. Thank for telling yours. 🙂

    • alicorndreams April 20, 2013 at 10:59 pm #

      I just wish that everyone who hears the call of the words will listen to the call. It’s work, but it’s so much fun!

  6. mrsjacoby19 April 20, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

    Wow, I’m speechless!! You have encouraged my soul!! I’m so happy for you….Just Courageous to step out and follow your dream!!! Thank You!!

    • alicorndreams April 20, 2013 at 10:52 pm #

      🙂 All any of us can do is chase what speaks to our hearts. Find it, and the work is a game and the adventure is… an adventure!

    • mrsjacoby19 April 20, 2013 at 11:05 pm #

      Amen!!! I truly believe that!!! Finding/Going after that which is in your heart!!! Love it!!!
      I’m still learning!! Thank you again!!

  7. jessielansdel April 20, 2013 at 10:41 pm #

    I have only two words to say to this……THANK YOU!

    • alicorndreams April 20, 2013 at 10:51 pm #

      🙂 You’re welcome! 🙂
      If I can do for just one what my Freshman College English teacher did for me (“I don’t care what your major is, you need to be writing. Write every day. It is inside of you and you need to let it out”) then I have done my job.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blogs, articles, information, videos, etc. – the weekly offering … | Books: Publishing, Reading, Writing - April 23, 2013

    […] by jandunlap From The Writing Corp: Writing in the Real World by lindaricke From The Writing Corp: People Like You by alicorndreams From Writer Unboxed: When to Hold Em’ and When to Fold Em’: Knowing If Your […]

  2. People Like You « middleagedyo - April 21, 2013

    […] People Like You. […]

  3. People Like You | Writer Block - April 20, 2013

    […] People Like You. by The Writing Corp. […]

Opinion/Comment/Proposition/Request? Write It Below! {Nonsense & Offensive Messages Will Be AUTOMATICALLY DELETED and IP will be Banned From The Writing Corp.]

