I See You’ve Put Your Pen Down…

14 Apr

quote about writingBecause it’s hard. Because you’re busy. Because the words don’t come to you, because you’ll never be good enough, because you’re a worthless, hopeless, loser. I want you to pick it up again, physically or mentally. Pick up the pen, Right Now.

You don’t have to write. Just hold it in your hand and feel it for a second. Remember what it was that got you hooked on writing, that made you want to write more. Remember the rush.

Now feel the fire start in your belly. Feel the burning behind your eyes, feel the full force of your emotions. The beating of your heart, the clenching of your soul. The tightening of your fist as your dreams weigh down on you.

You want to write.

Don’t you dare put that pen back down. You are a fighter. The words come to you through a haze of pain, they bleed from your fingertips and scratch across your brain. Is it worth it? Are your dreams worth this?

Yes.

If you want to be good at this – if you want to make words dance for you, jump across the page and set themselves on fire for you, you’ve got to pay them in blood and tears and sweat.

You’ve got to sit down and write.

And you will.

Rowan S. R. is an author-creature at The Writing Corp. To read more of its writing, check back here or hop on over to Rowan S.R’s blog.

16 Responses to “I See You’ve Put Your Pen Down…”

  1. tacitn3ss August 23, 2013 at 8:58 am #

    I was inspired 🙂 thanks.

    • Rowan October 1, 2013 at 11:37 am #

      I’m glad I could do that for you! You’re welcome!

    • Rowan October 4, 2013 at 3:38 am #

      That’s awesome! I’m glad I could do that for you~!

  2. Rowan April 16, 2013 at 7:11 am #

    Reblogged this on Dreaming Worlds and commented:

    Recently, I have become an author at The Writing Corp. Here’s my first post there!

  3. nesherehrman April 15, 2013 at 5:36 am #

    As one writer to another, what I want to write is a pompous, pretentious comment about how smart we both are, such writingly writery writers writing writings, but I can’t. This isn’t just good, this is brilliant. I do write, all the time, and this still managed to inspire me. Thank you for this short verse of brilliance and artistry.

    • Rowan April 15, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

      *stares at screen in speechless happiness* That is an amazing compliment. I’m so very glad that I managed to do this, and thank you for such an honestly awesome comment that has perhaps made my universe.
      And now that I have gotten off the moon for long enough to reread the first half of your comment, I’d like to respond in a pompously pretentious manner – we’re just all freaking awesome. 😄
      Peace~

  4. Lorna's Voice April 15, 2013 at 1:07 am #

    I must pick up my metaphorical pen and get at it! 🙂

    • Rowan April 15, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

      Yess! Exactly! Go forth and let the words spill forth from thine metaphorical pen onto thine page. Thou can do anything with thine pen. 😄

  5. The Writing Corp Admin April 14, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

    Inspiring! Thank you so much Ro!

    • Rowan April 15, 2013 at 1:32 pm #

      Aww, Verg! That’s awesome to hear(read XP)! You’re awesomely welcome, and thank you.

  6. dragonplume April 14, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

    Inspiring way to start the writing day! Thanks.

    • Rowan April 15, 2013 at 1:30 pm #

      You’re welcome! I’m glad you liked it and thanks for reading and the link~ Write on.

  7. jcmarckx2009 April 14, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

    Thanks for this. For me, writing is not the issue, but what I write is. I write every day, but is any of it worth a crap?

    • Rowan April 15, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

      You’re welcome. ^_^ Well, I do think it is worth crap. I’ve got faith that so long as we keep spewing out crap day after day, that crap will slowly turn into workable, then manageable, then awesome crap. 😄 Then they’ll become those rough stones we polish into diamonds. If it’s worth much, I read your blog, and I think that your writing is pretty awesome.

    • jcmarckx2009 April 15, 2013 at 10:16 pm #

      Thank you! I appreciate that.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I See You’ve Put Your Pen Down… | Writer Block - April 14, 2013

    […] I See You’ve Put Your Pen Down…. […]

Opinion/Comment/Proposition/Request? Write It Below! {Nonsense & Offensive Messages Will Be AUTOMATICALLY DELETED and IP will be Banned From The Writing Corp.]

