What is a Writer?

7 Apr

what-is-a-writer

I asked myself the other day,

Why am I a writer, what made me that way?
That question’s ad hominem, it asks about me,
But it’s true of all writers, counting you thine and thee
Because when you sit, and examine that question
Writing’s more than a job, not just a profession
A person who writes, whether tiny or small
Is always unique, from the first word they scrawl
So now, let me see, we’ve defined some new terms,
A writer’s a creature, not a snail or some germs
But how do they form? Do they pass some hard test?
Or perhaps are they hatched, from an egg, in a nest?
Now I still don’t have an answer to the question I asked,
But now I have new ones, they are rising quite fast
Is there more than one kind, is it decided by age
Can a man be a writer if he’s not old and sage?
To answer all this we might have to digress
Because it is I who must also confess
I don’t have the answers, I don’t know who’s a writer
I just know that I am one, more than lover or fighter
And I don’t know you, I can’t tell if you are
I don’t know if you rhyme or your thinking’s bizarre
Yet one thing I’ll say, and this fact I ensure
If you think you’re a writer, then you are, to be sure
This poem was written by an author of The Writing Corp. To see more poems by the same writer, hop on over to nesherehrman.wordpress.com/
3 Responses to “What is a Writer?”

  1. booksandbanter June 6, 2013 at 11:00 am #

    It’s my first visit. I browsed a bit. Interesting. I’ll be back for more!

  2. seerovum April 7, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

    I only take issue with one thing: “more than a profession.” Precisely, in the truest meaning of the word, writing IS, or should be, a “profession.” The problem is that we (collectively) have terribly abused what was once a revered word.

    With a bit of research, you may find that traditionally only three professions existed: theology, law, and medicine. “Professionals” were people who completed dedicated their life to the highest callings with strong academic underpinnings. In this true sense of the word, only the best writers could aspire to be “professionals.”

    Now we have “pre-owned automobile” professionals. That’s crap. It is an abuse of what the word “professional” really meant. (I am not “busting your chops.” Instead, I am complaining about what has happened to a perfectly good word. And, since we live and die by words as writers, I believe that we should understand them in their depth and (sadly sometimes former) glory.)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Weekly Roundup of Blogs, Articles, Information and all that other good stuff! | Books: Publishing, Reading, Writing - April 15, 2013

    […] Scenes: Verbs for Carrying Dialogue: “Said” Versus the Rest From The Writing Corp: What is a Writer? by nesherehrman From wordserve water cooler: Have I Arrived? Defining Your Expectations as a Writer […]

Opinion/Comment/Proposition/Request? Write It Below! {Nonsense & Offensive Messages Will Be AUTOMATICALLY DELETED and IP will be Banned From The Writing Corp.]

